Thursday 10 September 2020

Group condemns arrest of journalists, protesters in Lagos

The Joint Action Front (JAF) has condemned the arrest of some protesters and journalists by the Lagos State Police Command.

DAILY POST gathered that some journalists and protesters were arrested during a protest to kick against the recent increase in the price of petroleum and electricity tariff on Thursday.

JAF while reacting, described the arrest as illegal.

JAF Secretary, Comrade Abiodun Aremu in a statement made available to DAILY POST on Thursday, demanded the immediate and unconditional release of all the arrested protesters and the journalists.

Aremu said, “The attention of the Joint Action Front (JAF) has just been drawn to the illegal arrest of several comrades of the Socialist Party of Nigeria (SPN) by police and security operatives of the Area C Command. Journalists who were covering the event were also arrested alongside the leaders and members of the Socialist Party of Nigeria (SPN) for protesting this morning against the fuel price hike, electricity tariff and the deregistration of SPN.

“The arrested include Comrades Ayo Ademiluyi, Duro, Engels, Davinovich and several others. JAF hereby demands the immediate and unconditional release of all the arrested comrades and the journalists who did no wrong exercising their legitimate and constitutional rights of expression and protest”.

“The peaceful protest led by the Socialist Party of Nigeria (SPN) was repressed by the police this morning on the instruction of the Buhari regime.

“The protest is against the hikes in petrol price and electricity tariff hike as well as the refusal of INEC to obey court of appeal judgement. We remain undaunted, the struggle continues, victory is certain.

“Arrested are a total of 18 protesters including 4 journalists: Christopher Harry, Abisoye Kosoko, Tunde Yusuf, Akande Abiola, Ayo Ademiluyi, Ifeanyi Onwunalu, Davy Fidel, Dagga Tolar, Adetunji Gbenga, Usman Khadijat, Hassan Taiwo Soweto, Moshood Oshunfurewa, Taiwo Alao and Chinedu Bosah. Journalists are Ifeoluwa Adediran of premium times, Abiodun Ayeoba of Sahara reporters, Awoniyi Oluwatosin of Objectv media and Daniel Tanimu of Galaxy TV”.

No comments:

Post a Comment