Tuesday 20 April 2021

Infantino Condemns ESL, Sends Warning To Founding Clubs


FIFA president Gianni Infantino condemned the European Super League and warned the clubs involved of the consequences.

Twelve clubs – including the Premier League’s so-called ‘big six’ – were part of the controversial plans to create a new competition.

The Super League plans were condemned across the football community with the Premier League, FA and even Prime Minister Boris Johnson criticising the clubs.

A suggestion from UEFA that participating players would not be allowed to take part in major international tournaments was shot down by Real Madrid president Florentino Perez.

However, FIFA have taken a similar hard line approach judging by Infantino’s comments.

He is the latest to add his voice to the dissenting choir and told the UEFA Congress on Tuesday morning: “We can only strongly disapprove the creation of the Super League, a Super League which is a closed shop, which is a breakaway from the current institutions, from the leagues, from the associations, from UEFA and from FIFA.

The Euro Super League proposals have not gone down well with fans and Liverpool supporters let their club’s owners know what they thought at Anfield.

The Euro Super League proposals have not gone down well with fans and Liverpool supporters let their club’s owners know what they thought at Anfield

“There is a lot to throw away for the short-term financial gain of some. They need to reflect, and they need to assume responsibility.”

He warned the breakaway clubs: “If some elect to go their own way then they must live with the consequences of their choice. They are responsible for their choice.

“Concretely, this means either you’re in or you’re out. You cannot be half in or half out.”

It will be a new European competition between 20 top clubs

AC Milan, Arsenal, Atletico Madrid, Chelsea, Barcelona, Inter Milan, Juventus, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Real Madrid and Tottenham Hotspur have all joined as the inital 12 founders

Three more founding clubs will join while a further five teams will qualify annually based on achievements in the prior season

Games will be played in midweek and all clubs will remain in their domestic leagues

There will be two groups of 10 clubs each, playing home and away fixtures within the group each year

The top three in each group will automatically qualify for the quarter-finals

Teams finishing fourth and fifth will then compete in a two-legged play-off for the remaining quarter-final positions

A two-leg knockout format will then be used to reach the final at the end of May, which will be staged as a single fixture at a neutral venue

It is understood the Premier League has called its other 14 clubs to an emergency shareholders’ meeting on Tuesday morning, to which the ‘big six’ – Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United and Tottenham – have not been invited.

No comments:

Post a Comment